in the grip of the grippe
02.27.06

let me whine for a minutes about my weekend. i caught the flu. finally. after putting up a good fight, aided by a box of zicam spoons and some vitamin c chews, i caved. saturday evening, an hour into my full shift, i got the aches. then i got the shakes. then the chills, the hot flashes, and before you knew it i was pre-menopausal, except they call it the flu this time of year. i was up until 4am with the worst fever/migraine combo i've ever experienced, and no antibiotics to carry me through it. i had to toughen up, oldschool: all i had was some water, blankets, and a washrag (don't forget the excedrin). basically, i drank as much water as possible, then cocooned myself up in bed and sweated the fever out. i tell you the truth, i felt a million times better the next morning. i still have the sniffles, but it's great to be alive. after all, according to history, tens of millions of people have died in pandemics from this nastiness.

i remember being in the grip of the fever, waiting for the excedrin to kick in or me to pass out, whichever came first, just asking God to please help me, please forgive me, what did i do?, all of those things. i had this bizarre moment of clarity, though; in any situation, worship is always an appropriate response. true, my body was wracked with pain, and i seriously couldn't even think about getting down on my knees or having a little devotional right there, but i thought about Christ and His sufferings. i thought about how my affliction, wherever it came from or whoever sent it, could be used by God in that moment to become something i would thank Him for.

thank You, Father, for demonstrating Your unconditional love through suffering. i did nothing to earn that, and nothing i could ever do will change that. i am so thankful that i could identify with You in the least through my painful moment of illness. to think that after what i, sinful man, experienced and how badly it hurt, You still endured so much more, the perfect Son of God. i worship You for that today, Lord. let that be with my spirit this week as You continue to form me into a vessel of Your love. amen.


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random