the drama of alabama football
11.19.05

i am experimenting with football fanaticism this weekend in one of the less subtle ways: i am wearing team colors! there will be no going overboard, however, as I'm only wearing a select few items, aka shirt, undershirt, socks, underwear, and that's it. i actually have some really comfy red and gray work-out pants, but that would just be too much. i want to just try this out a little bit. now don't jump to conclusions and think i've never enjoyed sports; heck, i love sports! but i have always been a bit subdued in how i express my love for a good game of whatever. when i lived in virginia, i spent many a weekend going to an orioles game in camden yards and chowing down loaded hotdogs while screaming for the boys in orange and gray. when i was king of the band nerds i loved me some high school football. anyway, i think i've already hinted at my conversion to the tide side this year.

i only ever chose an alabama team because, apparently, in this state you must pick a side. there is none of this "i'm not from here" bull, you must pick your side. i wagered with nathan capps like 3 or so years ago that i would choose whoever won the ironbowl, which was auburn (to wes gunn's delight) and so i sided with the tigers and told nathan that if he ever wanted me to come over to the crimson tide, he needed only write me a paper telling me in 10,000+ words why i should do so. lucky nate, he never had to write that paper. once i began dating the beautiful jen maddox (who sorely needs some good pictures on this blog -hint-), i saw the light and switched over to the georgia bulldogs. go dawgs!

my relationship mandates a love for the dawgs, and so my shallow alliance with auburn has come to an end and i root for alabama. the logic: georgia plays auburn, auburn plays alabama, but georgia never really plays alabama; therefore, it is necessary to love georgia, acceptable to like alabama, and a must to despise auburn. an enemy's enemy is a new best friend! besides that, an auburn fan gave my woman the finger last week. maybe that's no good excuse, but screw that, i've never even purposely watched an auburn game, and don't care to do so anytime soon!

now this is all well and good, but if you want to find where my heart is in the whole matter, look no further than the team that my sweetheart and i both love.



go hokies!


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random