liftin' and a-tumblin', singin' and a-brushin'
11 June 2004

gosh, it has been crazy trying to update these past 3 days. yesterday lightning struck a line around here and put the power out for a whole day.

wednesday i had an awesome time with my kids at youth group. we spent some time really studying the Bible, not just reading over it but actually studying in depth word for word, and maybe even (machen strike me!) thought for thought. i had a lot of participation from everybody.

at first, some kids began to speak their thoughts, but would stop and tell me they didn't know what they were saying. i said they should just speak what comes to mind when they study and think, and then i gave them a metaphor: not all diamonds look beautiful from the get go, but must be polished and tumbled and cut to form before you ever see the finished product. so too with their thoughts, ideas, and answers. they may seem as boring as a bunch of old rocks, but inside every thought there is a diamnod that can be extracted and made to shine. the kids all opened up a lot more from that point on and there was some great "polishing" going on. the lesson ran so long because of inspired discussion that i had to make the lesson a 2-parter!

thursday was my lazy day. i did nothing but watch trashy dating shows and movies while doing my laundry. fun. woo. the movies were cool. i saw cheaper by the dozen, the missing and catch me if you can. all good. never cross a brujo.

today has been painful and yet pleasant. mmm...painful as in my trainer is murdering my poor innocent biceps, but pleasant since i got to enjoy a whole sack full of taco bell and then play guitar and sing with my guys for 2 hours.

i miss my roomies from back home. they aren't back home either though; one is in thailand, another in cocoa, fl, and the last is singing his guts out somewhere in the southeast with cornerstone. i miss our little rituals and practical jokes. here's a fun pic of the typical morning custom.

men at work!

what's a brujo?


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random