i heart black people! show me the money!
01.16.06

jen's dad came down for the weekend the other night. great guy, he's got to be one of the goofiest, coolest, and most fun dads i know. we put together a new dining room table for jen, which was a fun experience for all, but especially for me, since i absolutely relish putting together stuff, especially furniture. in a moment i'll be heading back to jen's apartment to help with some overhaul on her nifty headboard. should be pretty sweet after we get through with it.

still doing my homework for the whole federal government thing, and getting pumped about going to my interview with dr. harris tomorrow. the only thing that is sucking is that i've been looking at other schools and i have to wait a semester to get into a school other than psi, seeing how their due dates for admission are over already. this is what i get for putting my eggs in one basket. also, i've had flashes of, "what if i end up staying in alabama to work on my masters?," and i find myself wishing desperately that i don't end up having to stay here, especially to go through grad school at faulkner. not to be ugly about it, but i just have the feeling that getting my master's here would limit me somehow.

random thought from yesterday: i love inter-racial couples. don't ask why, it's just something that really strikes me as... i don't know, beautiful, interesting, a sign of good things? i always told my parents i'd be happy if i married somebody who wasn't white, which took them a lot of getting used to. i don't know if they've changed their minds on it yet, but i'd had some pretty heated arguments in the past about it. basically, i saw a white guy and a black girl holding hands at work yesterday evening, and it was just the coolest feeling for some reason. it made me smile. man, when i was a kid i had just as many friends who were of other races, if not more, than i had of my own. i miss that sometimes.


to seize the day a bit, here is a thought-provoking bit on the history of segregation. hint: january 16th is more than just a day off. how far have we come?

time to head to the apartamente for some headboard overhaul and a little homework perhaps.


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random