thankful- pt. iii- the fam
12.14.05

so this is one of those times where i get in the mood to write nice things about people and talk a good game about how they've touched my life in a deep and moving way, but what member of my family hasn't done that? ok, maybe not a whole lot of them, but enough that i felt like making a broader than usual statement about my relatives. it's still the season to be thankful, and i extend many thank you's and i-love-you's to my parents and grandparents.

to mom and dad: thanks for teaching me about what it means to work hard and earn something. thanks for helping me in the prodigal moments. thanks for not doing every little thing for me. thanks for teaching me not to be a lazy ass. thanks for having a little mercy.

to granny and papa (stewart): thanks for spoiling me rotten, thus teaching me what grandparenting is all about. thanks for the trips to the comic book store back in junior high. thanks, pa, for picking me up after i got in that fight back in 8th grade, then calming me down and spending the day with me. thanks, granny, for indulging my inquiries about all of those danielle steele and anne rice novels i caught you reading, as well as introducing me to the oddest combinations of breakfast foods that should never really ever be breakfast foods. you 2 give the best birthdays.

to grandma and grandpa (corbin): thanks for teaching me the value of a good laugh, even when i don't know what the crap you just said (they're uber-southern). thanks for showing me that someday i will need not be afraid to let my parents whoop my kids if i'm away. thanks for the cooking. thanks for showing me that man has dominion over nature, just as God said, even when nature thinks otherwise (cool stories later, i promise). thanks for the nicknames, and for quitting chewing tobacco.

to gramma and grampa (oleksa): thanks for the culture shock. i love ohio. thanks for the racko games and cabbage rolls. thanks for being so concerned with my future. thanks for accepting mom. thank you for the wonderful times of vacation. i'm way overdue to see you guys again sometime. thanks for taking care of nan-nan.

ya gotta love family.


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random