thankful- pt. ii- jennifer stewart
11.23.05

i came to faulkner university in the spring of 2003, a nice shock to the system after having lived and worked for a couple of years in the dc metropolitan area. not that i'm overwhelmed by big moves; as a matter of fact, they're the story of my life!

the story of david's life:
'81- born, san antonio, tx
'85- moved, panama city, fl
'89- moved, brackley, uk
'92- moved, panama city, fl
'95- moved, san antonio, tx
'99- moved, fairfax, va
'02- moved, montgomery, al
'06- the big move, atlanta, ga

aaaaaaahhhhhhh!!!!!!!

and might i add that each of these moves incorporated the many changes of address that temporarily disabled all major friend-making abilities? for example, my "hell years" of '92-'95 involved me attending just about every middle school in bay county, and then going to a high school where i knew nobody but the people who picked on me back in 6th grade. was i a troublemaker or some kind of bad seed? nope, my family just moved at least once a year. it really sucked. me? bitter? naaahhh... well, maybe a little. let's just say my kids will have plenty of stability. but i digress.

i've never been able to maintain a longterm friendship without the help of a phone. my life just hasn't dealt me the hometown card. when i have to tell people where i'm from, i just say virginia, since that's where i would love to settle down and have a family. it would probably be very awkward to contact old best friends from childhood, since there are very few of those, and besides that, they never really reciprocated the feeling. you know, the kind you say are your best friends, but they more than likely don't say the same?

enough of that. this is no pity party. this is another day to be thankful, which brings me to the next on my list...

---------------------------------------

i met this kid when i was just 3.5 years old, and boy was she a chunker! to this day she still has lines on her now-thin arms where the little baby fat rolls left permanent marks. i can say this, of course, because i'm talking about my little sis, the lovely miss jennifer marie stewart. hold all applause until the end. i gotta say, jena and i have been through it all together. fights, "she's touching me!", "he's on my side!", "i love you!", "she's being gross!", and many more. i've caught her picking her nose, and vice versa. we've seen all there is to see as brother and sister. we've experienced all of the turbulence of childhood, had our share of fights, and made up every time. we're 100% comfortable around each other, and there is absolutely no faking it when it's just us 2.

jena and i have seen each other at our best and at our worst, and still we've stuck together and loved because that's what we do. she's been through all the moves that i have, and put up with all my crap time and again. in the aftermath of every major happening in our lives, we've still said our "i-love-you!'s" and our "gross!'s" and hugged over it. she knows every inside joke. i know that whenever i see my little sister, i can be encouraged like i didn't think was possible. this is what gets her a big spot on the thankful list.

thanks, jena, for being my little sister (though you had no choice in the matter, ha).
thanks, jena, for being there for me through it all.


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random