i may be a hurricane veteran, but...
11 July 2005

what a crock. dennis ended up with didley-squat this weekend, excepting the upheaval of pensacola, but my windows are perfectly intact, there are no leaves stuffed into all the cracks of my truck, and i didn't hear evacuation sirens yesterday, so that rules this hurricane as all bark and no bite in my mind.

well that puts me in study mode today. i have a test to prepare for that i should have taken this morning, but because of the hype from dennis the campus was shut down for the day and i got an extra day to sit around, eating and sleeping. fun. actually, i'm sure i hear the fridge calling my name right now. i'll attend to hunger in a minute, but not before i get out one last rant.

yes, the rant. it has characterized quite a few posts lately. my latest subject? i won't say since it could get me in some trouble, but let's just say i think i can understand a little of the criticism that uber-conservative coc'ers have against their labeled archnemeses (and self-proclaimed progressives), the liberals. i was excited to find out that i would get to hear a certain guy speak sunday morning, but after 30 minutes of struggling to connect i came up with nothing. i felt like i was listening to bob ross (the happy painter guy) expound on a children's bedtime story. it was really quite bizarre as i found myself thinking, "what the crap is the point? is this a joke?," about a man who has written some great material and been a great teacher (i heard him before at acu). the whole feel of the preaching was a poorly attempted group hug in my opinion. and i never really noticed the bible being needed the whole time. usually if a preacher is losing me on something then at least they've been using the bible for the most part and i can just soak that up instead, but that didn't happen this time. the verdict: i up and left toward the end. i just couldn't listen to it anymore. what did i do instead? i picked up my guitar, went to jen's apartment, and just played for a while and worshipped in the living room. that was something i could connect through.

time to eat.


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random