how do i love thee?
22 June 2005

here's some backstory to today's post.

since the moment i realized that girls really weren't out to spread cooties, i have taken due notice of public displays of affection. as in ,"hmmm... wish i could enjoy that like they are right now..." you know (you really do), the whole kissing, hugging, making out, sweet names, praise and adoration gimmick. it's the realization that, yes, you do indeed have hormones, and, yes, they are indeed a-raging, thus rendering you an idiotic, lovesick simp of a boy/man.

enter: my observations of couples engaged in pda.

they all fall apart!

at least, that was my observation as a teenager. watching the melodrama of the highschool courtyard at lunchtime always subjected me to this same verdict. x dumps y the day after they are seen furiously making out at lunch. it's almost beyond the experiment stage! every couple who engaged in pda broke up, while other non-pda couples seemed to hold out longer.

now comes the moment of truth, the awakening idea that maybe this isn't true after all! do you ever get the wakeup call that something you have set into place within your brain is suddenly a farce? it just hit me today that maybe my little theory is not so true after all. por ejemplo, my parents are pda freaks, and they're doing swell!

this concludes the backstory. on with the post.

jen had a little remark for me the other day concerning my write up of a certain biology professor.
"you never say stuff like that about me!"
what?! i don't?! perhaps i really haven't done her the online justice she deserves. perhaps my previous perceptions of pda have colored my decisions to post about my relationship. after all, this address is public space, correct? will i write ballads and essays on the beauty and grace of an incredible woman only to have her dump my keester on the side of i-85 a day later?

unabashedly, no.

i'll write limericks instead! (and maybe that dump thing won't happen)

there once was a girl with a dimple
who could laugh 'til it popped like a pimple
in fits of great mirth
it's most definitely worth
a great effort; popped dimples ain't simple!
-ask jen about this one

my love has the deepest brown eyes
when i see them i cannot despise
with a look she enchants
and charms with a glance
and i have to fight off all the guys!

when my ladyfriend walks in the door
every man's chin hits the floor
but i'm in the know
'cause i am her beau
she's in love with me forevermore!

ya like apples?


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random