the training wheels are off
11 June 2005

it may be finished now. maybe not. i still have some ideas up my sleeve. this is the new design, though! nothing too complex, seeing how i'm a lousy html programmer. i know 4 things: text, borders, pictures, and links. everything else is way too foreign to even start on. i got the idea for this one from my old formal shirt back when i took jen to her own club formal, plus i love maurice sendak's art from his books (such as where the wild things are). that was an awesome time; we had the event at the montgomery zoo, amidst the lions and giraffes. good memories.

so this is the summer design, albeit a little early. the summer doesn't officially hit until the 21st/22nd, but i wanted to get this thing out of the way. i think i've chosen an appropriate theme. this season really is a summer for dreaming and scheming. even today i am already catching the musical bug, and as soon as my buddy matt gets over here i'll be writing some jam-up music, or at least dreamin' up some lyrics. this is just the first half of my theme.

the second half centers on the picture and quote above. i guess you really can't begin to tie the scripture and lyric together unless you've read the book of the art source. the nations of man will rejoice in the God of the wilderness. got that from the caedmon's call song "we delight". love that song. i am really preparing my heart and soul for a trip into the wilderness. i'll be heading to atlanta in a year or two; i don't really know when, but it will be soon. that is a huge wilderness for me. i'm exploring what for me is an uncharted territory by moving to that area. yeah, i've moved a bunch in my life, and yeah, i've been on my own before without a hitch, but the transitions were never that rough, and i always had parents to help me out (not anymore! they are now residing in hot, arid california). not this time. this will be the big "stepping out on my own" phase.

scary. exciting. through it all i will continue to rejoice in God, for He is not only the God of safe places, or the God of comfort. He is the God of the wilderness, and the God of new things.

maybe i'll write a song about it.


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random