i'm not that hard to figure out
03 April 2005

or am i?

this never really occurred to me until recently. i like to think that i'm a complex person, lots of layers, people need to get to know the real me, blah blah blah, and i've found that that just isn't the case. not that i'm shallow or anything, don't get me wrong, but i'm just not a tough nut to crack.

i am a good friend. a faithful friend. loyalty is one of my favorite qualities in myself. also one of my biggest struggles. ever notice that sometimes your best qualities can be your worst ones?

all of these thoughts and more led me in the direction of one of those many over-used bible characters, peter. enter peter: loud, quick-to-speak, loyalty-gone-wrong disciple, often characterized as an idiotic, rambling, socially inept man-dude (pardon my frequent hyphenations). this guy just doesn't get much slack cut to him these days. i mean, come on now, he at least had the guts to step out of the boat! anyway, i think i am a lot of ways just like peter. it's not that i'm a retard or anything, i'm just a simple person a lot of the time. almost as if my conversations are reactionary in nature. i can be intellectual, but you don't have to spend numerous conversations trying to peel me away and discover the real david inside. so when i get in a small group setting it's not hard to get a look in my noggin and see what kind of person i am.

to quote one of my personal heroes: "i am what i am and that's all that i am."

oh, btw, i've found, through my network of testosteronian informants, that you can be a lot more masculine, and a little bit more bizarre, if you add the word man- in front of words. por ejemplo, if you are discovered by your workbuddies watching days of our lives you can refer to it as your man-soap. or, if you are ashamedly on a diet for your ladyfriend, you can order the man-salad. the possibilities are endless. it's like saying that tiger woods can play golf, but happy gilmore can play some mean man-golf.


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random