big fat math nerd!
18 January 2005

just sitting in stats lab on my 8 minute break, chillin' out and definitely not sweatin' it. ya know, it's very easy for me to get a big head in a class like this. math has always been my strong suit. well... almost always. i remember back in the day when i was in kindergarten, the testing people said i was retarded, so i actually got placed into a special class where i would get drilled over math concepts until i advanced to a particular level. i think that�s where i actually learned to love math. also, my mom was always cautious about my progress in school, so in the summer after each school year she would write out math problems for me every day before i was allowed to go outside and play with the other kids. i also remember having numerous drills with flash cards and other resources over every elementary concept imaginable. from elementary school until now. i have excelled and earned numerous awards in math classes and competitions. to have any element of difficulty whatsoever in a math class is an unthinkable thing to me. i heart math (and yes, i�m a nerd).

so sitting here in stats it is very easy for me to feel high and mighty, a math god sitting on his throne correcting the professor on every little math mistake. fortunately, it gives me great joy that i can read the Bible on my computer, else i might just wind up entertaining thoughts of my own grandeur, prideful ponderings of how i am just so smart and can solve differential equations in my head.

let�s deflate here for a bit.
when pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.
- proverbs 11:2
pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.
- proverbs 16:18
a man's pride brings him low, but a man of lowly spirit gains honor.
- proverbs 29:23

my moment of sobriety: if i were sitting in a history class right now, i�d be dozing 5 minutes into the lecture.

Father, thank You for the gift of knowing my strengths, and thank You for the gift of knowing my weaknesses. give me the sensitivity to know when You are driving me to humility, in school, work, relationships, and worship. amen.


check it out - 01.20.07
vapor - 11.15.06
can't complain - 11.10.06
turn the page - 11.09.06
who invented the word "me-maw"? - 09.28.06

<< :: >> | random